Can i use reactor for both Carbon and Phosguard?

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. 101 views

  • Posts: 67
  • Liked: 11
  • Thanks Given: 0
  • Received: 1
  • Location: Cambridge
I know the answer to this is to perhaps get SeaGel (hence my previous questions on it) but i have a fair bit of Phosguard AND Martix to use up.

Was just thinking, can i put both in my reactor?  Perhaps

phosguard | foam pad | matrix | foam pad

This way i can give the phosguard more room to move a bit, but pack the matrix a bit tighter to give it less movement.  Its only a little reactor, but then its only a little tank so i dont need much of either.

Just thinking it could be a way of getting the matrix bag out of my sump

Gav

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,393
  • Liked: 305
  • Thanks Given: 564
  • Received: 246
  • Location: Inverness
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/gav's-aqua-oak/

Reply #1

That is the same mix as seagel either way , I find it tends to separate it's self out anyway , I have set up in D-D reactor in this order bottom to top
Sponge | seagel | sponge (with the top sponge pushed down on top of the media to stop it tumbling)

Which within a few hours it sorts it's self to
Sponge | phosguard | matrix | sponge

I also am thinking it may work out cheaper to mix my own in the long run .

ajm83

  • Posts: 237
  • Liked: 43
  • Thanks Given: 57
  • Received: 28
  • derp

Reply #2

I don't think phosguard is supposed to move so you'd probably be alright packing it all quite tightly together :)

Tags:


Related Topics

4 Replies
1585 Views
Last post Jun 2, 2014 8:45:28 pm
by punchyjam
2 Replies
927 Views
Last post Jan 12, 2016 3:07:22 pm
by SaltyStarter
Carbon

Started by Carol « 1 2 3 » Filtration

34 Replies
1811 Views
Last post Sep 30, 2016 10:00:08 pm
by Carol
2 Replies
245 Views
Last post Nov 9, 2016 5:56:33 pm
by Gav
7 Replies
680 Views
Last post Jan 14, 2017 5:22:14 pm
by Mike