Float switches for flood prevention!

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. 376 views

  • Andy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,068
  • Liked: 269
  • Thanks Given: 176
  • Received: 213
  • Problems: 99
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/andy's-85l-nano/new/#new

Right,  nightmare scenario. Came back from holiday to find my drain had failed some how and the main tank had overflowed.    :(

Unfortunately I also had a big top up tank connected so not only had the main tank overflowed, it had also been diluted to 28PPT (because there was nothing coming down the drain into the sump, the ATO kept trying to top it up with RO which then got pumped into the display).

Does anybody know of a float switch I can put in the display which I can use to cut the mains power to the return pump (and ideally sound an alarm or send a text) ?

A colleague who's into his hardware hacking recommended a Sonoff Tasmota, but those are generic. I would prefer an aquarium solution that I don't have to manually code if such a thing exists.


HK_Fuey

  • Graeme
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 6,325
  • Liked: 1792
  • Thanks Given: 488
  • Received: 1498
  • Location: Newcastle
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/graeme's-6x2x2-840l/

Reply #1

Oh no! What a nightmare. How did the drain get blocked, and why didn't the emergency manage to deal with it?

This could work:
AUTOAQUA
Donate to the running of ReefBase

HK_Fuey

  • Graeme
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 6,325
  • Liked: 1792
  • Thanks Given: 488
  • Received: 1498
  • Location: Newcastle
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/graeme's-6x2x2-840l/

Reply #2

Or this maybe:
AUTOAQUA

You'd have to check the detail to see which suited the job better.
Donate to the running of ReefBase

ajm83

  • Andy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,068
  • Liked: 269
  • Thanks Given: 176
  • Received: 213
  • Problems: 99
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/andy's-85l-nano/new/#new

Reply #3

Oh no! What a nightmare. How did the drain get blocked, and why didn't the emergency manage to deal with it?

This could work:
AUTOAQUA

Single drain on this tank... 🤦‍♂️

I think it was algae clogging the comb, so the drain wasn't completely blocked just slowed down enough to gradually raise the level and eventually overflow the tank over the course of the 10 days.

I had absolutely no algae in the tank when I left and a tonne all over everything when I returned so I can only think either a snail died, or my tanksitter dumped in a shitload of food causing an ammonia spike.

Thanks for the links I'll check those out. Looks just the thing.
Last Edit: Aug 30, 2019 10:30:26 am by ajm83

ajm83

  • Andy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,068
  • Liked: 269
  • Thanks Given: 176
  • Received: 213
  • Problems: 99
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/andy's-85l-nano/new/#new

Reply #4

D-D are the importers for those AutoAqua thingies, and they aren't bringing them to the UK.  Could import one but i'd need adapters etc. Shame.

This might be the thing which actually forces me to bother setting up reefpi.

Thanks:



Related Topics

4 Replies
775 Views
Last post Mar 9, 2014 11:38:08 am
by T-Bone Tyrone
7 Replies
2043 Views
Last post Feb 22, 2016 10:49:50 am
by Mike
3 Replies
823 Views
Last post Jan 2, 2018 1:08:59 pm
by HK_Fuey


Donate towards the running of ReefBase

Donate £1.00 Donate £2.50 Donate £5.00 Donate £10.00 Donate £20.00 Donate another value