Donate to the running of ReefBase

We don't display ads, and we don't charge suppliers. This allows free, unbiased speech and opinion. Any donation of any amount really helps with the running costs.

Donate £1.00 Donate £2.50 Donate £5.00 Donate £10.00 Donate £20.00 Donate another value

AIO Sump layout

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. 364 views

  • Posts: 168
  • Liked: 36
  • Thanks Given: 0
  • Received: 9
  • Location: Cambridge
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/rusty's-225l-ea-marine/

Hi All

Looking to set up a new tank and i want to get some advice on how best to use the sump (it'a an EAmarine 1000 with the AIO sump in the back http://www.evolutionaqua.com/aquariums/assets/eamarine1000---manual.pdf)

The baffle between sections 4 and 5 has now been removed (since I already have a larger RO tank so didn't see the need to keep this) so section 4 is actually the full width of 4+5)

My plan is to run my skimmer in section 2 and a small reactor in section 4/5 for carbon and phosguard.  But i also have the following questions:

1. I would like to run some Seachem Matrix in a filter bag or similar.  Section 3 would seem like the logical place for this, but would i be able to put this in section 4/5?

2. The reason i would like to put the matrix in 4/5 is that it would be pretty cool if i could put my Cheato in section 3.  I currently have it running in an external H2Ocean reactor but if i could get put the Cheato in the actual sump, it would mean one less thing hanging over the back of the tank. 

Would this actually work?  Or am i being daft?

Cheers

R

The land shark

  • Posts: 88
  • Liked: 37
  • Thanks Given: 2
  • Received: 8
  • Location: North Lincs
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/evolution-of-a-reef/

Reply #1

If you want chaeto have you thought about an ALR1?

rusty_uk

  • Posts: 168
  • Liked: 36
  • Thanks Given: 0
  • Received: 9
  • Location: Cambridge
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/rusty's-225l-ea-marine/

Reply #2

The reactor i have is basically a ghetto ALR1.  Its the D-D H2Ocean fluidised reactor with some red led's wrapped around it.  To be honest, it works great.

My plan here was to light up that section of the sump in the same way and then i could do away with an external reactor.  Less kit.  Less to go wrong :)

Tags:


Related Topics

4 Replies
1924 Views
Last post Sep 17, 2015 11:03:06 am
by Mike
1 Replies
635 Views
Last post Nov 10, 2015 3:50:15 pm
by SaltyStarter
7 Replies
3892 Views
Last post Nov 24, 2015 11:11:24 am
by SaltyStarter
5 Replies
1192 Views
Last post Feb 12, 2016 1:37:42 am
by Essexcoralreefer
6 Replies
995 Views
Last post Jul 27, 2017 9:53:32 am
by ajm83