200 watt titanium heater

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. 207 views

  • Posts: 74
  • Liked: 11
  • Thanks Given: 1
  • Received: 8
  • Location: UK

just rigged up a stc 1000 controller with a 200 watt heater . i have placed the heater in a bucket of full of water for (testing only) water temp is showing 12.1 degrees with the controller set at 25.
the controller displaying /flashing LLL and then 12.1,so just for my piece of mind to make out if i have set it up right how long would it take for that size heater to heat up to the set temp of 25.
just want to make sure its working all ok. i had no bangs or sparks yet  :lol: :lol:

Mike

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 7,959
  • Liked: 1639
  • Thanks Given: 650
  • Received: 1050
  • Location: Manchester
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/i-conica's-tank-(picture-heavy!)/

Reply #1

The temperature should show what you've requested, unless it's a cold bucket and it's just not reached the temperature yet? Is the heater on?

Donate to the running of ReefBase

Asco1104

  • Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,701
  • Liked: 405
  • Thanks Given: 288
  • Received: 353
  • Location: Camberley
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/tims-first-and-last-upgrade/msg42396/#msg42396

Reply #2

LLL seems strange, got any pics?


Tim

HK_Fuey

  • Graeme
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5,164
  • Liked: 1435
  • Thanks Given: 397
  • Received: 1186
  • Location: Newcastle
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/graeme's-6x2x2-840l/

Reply #3

Check your wiring.  Never heard of "LLL" before.

chilliman

  • Posts: 74
  • Liked: 11
  • Thanks Given: 1
  • Received: 8
  • Location: UK

Reply #4

right everything seems to be ok the LLL that showing on the display looks like the heat is A LOW icon indicator. what i did found out is that while the heater was in the bucket of water and the temp probe was towards the bottom of the bucket the set temp was on 25c it did stay around the 24.6-7 c in which was ok but if i moved the temp probe up towards the middle of the bucket. the heating turn on and rise up to 25.1c and then the cooling switched indicator turn on and then i moved the probe again towards the top of the bucket and then the heat indicator turn on again rise a few degrees and turn off . so it looks like i panic a bit with the LLL .what am thinking is if the heater heated the bucket of water to the set temp ie @ 25c all the water in that bucket should be around the 25c mark by moving the probe around from the bottom of the bucket to the middle and then the top gave me slightly different temp readings. so its going to be important where you going place that temp probe in your fish tank.where would it be the best place to put it? in the main display tank ? towards the bottom,middle,top or in the sump again towards the bottom,middle,top, away from the main heater in a different chamber?.by the way i did not rigged up any cooling fans to the unit for testing but clearly shows on the display the cooling would kick in ok.


the unit is by simplyaquaria an equivalent to elitech stc 1000

Asco1104

  • Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,701
  • Liked: 405
  • Thanks Given: 288
  • Received: 353
  • Location: Camberley
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/tims-first-and-last-upgrade/msg42396/#msg42396

Reply #5

That's what has thrown us then about the LLL as the stc dosnt do that.
You will get different readings in a bucket with no water movement, if you put a power head in there it would mix the hot and cold spots.
I have mine in the main display, this isn't always advisable as if the return pump fails it will cook the water in the sump. I have a battery backup on my return pump so my only problem would be if the pump fails but I will get a notification if that happens from ecosmart.


Tim

HK_Fuey

  • Graeme
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5,164
  • Liked: 1435
  • Thanks Given: 397
  • Received: 1186
  • Location: Newcastle
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/graeme's-6x2x2-840l/

Reply #6

Yep, you need something in the bucket to create movement and mix the water.  If you're taking a tiny bucket (10-15L), then an airstone would work.  Bigger drums and you'd want a powerhead or small return pump to mix it up.

Tags:


Related Topics

21 Replies
2216 Views
Last post Oct 2, 2013 6:03:13 pm
by T-Bone Tyrone
6 Replies
1203 Views
Last post Jun 30, 2014 11:20:26 pm
by Mike
32 Replies
3027 Views
Last post Jan 19, 2015 10:29:27 am
by T-Bone Tyrone
10 Replies
1328 Views
Last post May 4, 2016 10:41:28 am
by HK_Fuey
6 Replies
476 Views
Last post Oct 22, 2016 12:40:35 am
by HK_Fuey