New substrate

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. 217 views

  • Posts: 437
  • Liked: 152
  • Thanks Given: 20
  • Received: 61
  • Location: Essex
  • Tank Thread: https://youtu.be/y79hUeT-N9M

At last I'm about to start on me tank, 8D 8D 8D

I've got 25 kg of substrate to wash,so...........
Is it ok to rinse it with tap water till it's clean which would be easier to do ,can't remember what I did last time
Dave

A1

  • Posts: 55
  • Liked: 17
  • Thanks Given: 7
  • Received: 15
  • Location: Essex

Reply #1

Hi Dave,

When I first set up my original tank I rinsed the coral sand in Tap Water...

Now with what I’ve learnt I’d probably use RO water.. just personal preference I guess, a lot easier when you make your own water...

Can’t say I noticed anything untoward using a tap water rinse...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks:


HK_Fuey

  • Graeme
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 6,348
  • Liked: 1808
  • Thanks Given: 488
  • Received: 1506
  • Location: Newcastle
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/graeme's-6x2x2-840l/

Reply #2

Tap, then rinse off thoughrouly with RO
Donate to the running of ReefBase

Animal

  • Posts: 437
  • Liked: 152
  • Thanks Given: 20
  • Received: 61
  • Location: Essex
  • Tank Thread: https://youtu.be/y79hUeT-N9M

Reply #3

Yes thanks,all done now,
Put all 25 kg in a large brand new builders bucket ,put the hose in it and washed it all for almost an hour till it was clean,then soaked it in salt water ro,
Left it in there for a few hours to soak up then rinsed it out ,
Now all in me tank with 180 litres of saltwater ro,
Just got to wait now for the cycle process.
Dave

Tags:


Related Topics

22 Replies
4133 Views
Last post Sep 3, 2013 10:20:30 am
by Mike
3 Replies
1162 Views
Last post Jan 14, 2014 11:01:44 pm
by T-Bone Tyrone
4 Replies
1302 Views
Last post Jan 4, 2016 6:00:43 pm
by Marty


Donate towards the running of ReefBase

Donate £1.00 Donate £2.50 Donate £5.00 Donate £10.00 Donate £20.00 Donate another value