Auto-top not working

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. 915 views

  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 1
  • Thanks Given: 1
  • Received: 0
  • Location: Kent

Hi,

Purchased a second hand tank (aquareef 275) and he had a V2 auto-top up which sits in the sump and has a hose out to some RO in a container. I've set it all up (tank is starting to clear and is great) but for some reason as soon as the float kicks in the auto-top unit actually pulls water out of the sump and is soaking my floor! I've checked the motor unit and it doesn't appear to have a reverse option and I've checked the float unit and can't see anything and I've even switched over the two plugs into the mains and nothing.. I'm at a massive loss here and I can't top-up because it's soaking my floor.

help:)

Thanks

Gavin

ajm83

  • Andy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,068
  • Liked: 269
  • Thanks Given: 176
  • Received: 213
  • Problems: 99
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/andy's-85l-nano/new/#new

Reply #1

Is the pump in the top-up container or the sump...?    Usually the pump sits in the top off tub and the hose points into the sump

gavin.mccormick

  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 1
  • Thanks Given: 1
  • Received: 0
  • Location: Kent

Reply #2

Hey, the motor pump is sitting in the bottom of the sump with the hose sitting in the water and running out to the container of RO I have next to the tank. I don't have a top-up container as such I just have a 3-stage sump so I've stuck the float and the motor in the sump and have a 5L container of RO next to the tank.


cheers

gavin.mccormick

  • Posts: 6
  • Liked: 1
  • Thanks Given: 1
  • Received: 0
  • Location: Kent

Reply #3

Ok I'm such a massive idiot and having a stupid moment! I had the pump in the sump and not in the RO container.. haha so sorry! don't laugh too hard!

ajm83

  • Andy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1,068
  • Liked: 269
  • Thanks Given: 176
  • Received: 213
  • Problems: 99
  • Tank Thread: https://reefbase.co.uk/members'-tanks-6/andy's-85l-nano/new/#new

Reply #4

Ok I'm such a massive idiot and having a stupid moment! I had the pump in the sump and not in the RO container.. haha so sorry! don't laugh too hard!


Sorry Gavin, no can do


 lol lol lol  ;)

Tags:


Related Topics

5 Replies
1270 Views
Last post Jan 11, 2016 10:20:22 pm
by Mol_PMB
5 Replies
2283 Views
Last post Oct 2, 2016 8:26:00 pm
by Carol
3 Replies
1105 Views
Last post Jun 18, 2017 1:56:13 am
by Russell
13 Replies
2838 Views
Last post Oct 10, 2018 9:21:36 am
by StKilda
5 Replies
920 Views
Last post Jul 16, 2019 10:03:47 pm
by HK_Fuey


Donate towards the running of ReefBase

Donate £1.00 Donate £2.50 Donate £5.00 Donate £10.00 Donate £20.00 Donate another value